Moving Average EA

Back to topics list To post a new topic, please log in or register
BartWinter 2015.03.11 22:03

Hello,

I'm new to MQL4 Coding and have been learning it only for a couple of months. I am attempting of writing an EA which opens a trade when the MAs cross and close when the cross for a second time. I can get the EA to open in the right direction but I cannot get it to close. I could really use a helping hand. Thank you.

Here's the code.

extern double    Lots=0.2;

extern int       StopLoss=20;

extern string    Ma1;

extern int       Ma1Period=6;

extern int       Ma1Shift=0;

extern int       Ma1Method=0;

extern string    Ma2;

extern int       Ma2Period=3;

extern int       Ma2Shift=0;

extern int       Ma2Method=0;

#define MAX_ORDERS 4 //This controls the total number of that can be placed at any one time.

void start() //This process repeats itself after every tick (change in price).

{

Ma1=iMA(Symbol(),PERIOD_M1,6,0,MODE_SMA,PRICE_TYPICAL,0); //Defining the moving average

Ma2=iMA(Symbol(),PERIOD_M1,3,0,MODE_SMA,PRICE_TYPICAL,0); //Defining the moving average

int ticketbuy, ticketsell;  

{if(OrdersTotal()<MAX_ORDERS) //Total number of orders

//Buy Criteria

{

if(Ma1<Ma2)

{

ticketbuy = OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_BUY,Lots,Ask,10,StopLoss,0,"test_1",0,0,Green);

}

// Sell Criteria

else

{

ticketsell = OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_SELL,Lots,Bid,10,StopLoss,0,"test_1",0,0,Red);

}

//The section below is with regards to closing a live trade

if(Ma1>Ma2)// Condition to close the trade

{

bool buyingresult;

buyingresult = OrderClose(ticketbuy,Lots,Bid,10,Blue);

}

if(Ma1<Ma2)// Condition to close the trade

{

bool buyingresult;

buyingresult = OrderClose(ticketsell,Lots,Bid,10,Blue);

}

}

}

}

WHRoeder 2015.03.11 22:23 #

1. Don't paste code
    Play video
    Please edit your post.
    For large amounts of code, attach it.