indicators: What You See Is (not) What You Get in the code

Foreword: I am quite new to THIS programming language.

I have the impression that, for most indicators, what I see on the graph is not what I am getting in the code. So, before I might move to complex logic, I went back to the simple cases as I’d need to understand the basis with simple examples I guess.

Can someone cast some light over that?

I will clarify them with the simple example I am experimenting now:

To put it simple, I consider two Moving Averages, open trade (SELL) when Orange one is less than the Blue one and DX- is greater than 23.

CLOSE trade when a bar crosses the Orange line.

The (extract of) code is:

gMovingAverage_Orange = NormalizeDouble(iMA (Symbol(), 0, 10, 0, MODE_SMA, PRICE_TYPICAL, 0), Digits);
gMovingAverage_Blue = NormalizeDouble(iMA (Symbol(), 0, 7, 0, MODE_SMMA, PRICE_MEDIAN, 5), Digits);

gADXplus = iADX(Symbol(), PERIOD_CURRENT, 14, PRICE_CLOSE, MODE_PLUSDI, 0);
gADXminus = iADX(Symbol(), PERIOD_CURRENT, 14, PRICE_CLOSE, MODE_MINUSDI, 0);

// IF no order open
if ( (gMovingAverage_Orange < gMovingAverage_Blue ) && (gADXminus > gADXplus) && (gADXminus > GA_DXminus_Threshold) )
{
   SELL operation;
   tradeOpen = 1;
}

// IF sell order open
if (gMovingAverage < gLastTick.ask) // [DEBUG: deve prendere last bar!]
{
   CLOSE trade;
   tradeOpen = 0;
}

Result is in the screenshot, which makes me wonder what the hell is going on... according to what I see it should open the trade where the bar is!

Thanks

There is no screenshot.

You are comparing value of the current candle (0) with the of bar 5 ?

gMovingAverage_Orange = NormalizeDouble(iMA (Symbol(), 0, 10, 0, MODE_SMA, PRICE_TYPICAL, 0), Digits);
gMovingAverage_Blue = NormalizeDouble(iMA (Symbol(), 0, 7, 0, MODE_SMMA, PRICE_MEDIAN, 5), Digits);

1. Do NOT use NormalizeDouble, EVER. For ANY Reason. It's a kludge, don't use it. It's use is always wrong
  2. Don't use int when you mean boolean
    int tradeOpen = 1;