beginners question: is zero a valid ticket nr

Dear MQL4 Forum members,

I'm new to mql4/mql5 and this forum. I've a question which I couldn't figure out by reading documentation or searching the web/this forum:
Is 0 (zero) a valid/possible ticket number?
In other words is it possible (although unlikely) that OrderSend returns ZERO as a valid ticket number?

Kind regards, Tom

I would say that would depend entirely on the broker because the ticket number is generated from the trade server.

However unlikely 0 would be as an order number, all you can know with certainty is that -1 means that the OrderSend() failed.

honest_knave:

I would say that would depend entirely on the broker because the ticket number is generated from the trade server.

However unlikely 0 would be as an order number, all you can know with certainty is that -1 means that the OrderSend() failed.

Thanks for your answer!
On the other hand calling OrderTicket() without calling OrderSelect() seems to return zero (independent of broker ??), which could lead to the impression that zero is not a valid ticket nr?

example script:

void OnStart() {
   Print("pre: ", OrderTicket());
}

Check the errors!

Look in your expert folder there you have 2 sample EAs with a valid order control.

There you can see when and how to check the error of your orders sent.

tomtester:

Dear MQL4 Forum members,

I'm new to mql4/mql5 and this forum. I've a question which I couldn't figure out by reading documentation or searching the web/this forum:
Is 0 (zero) a valid/possible ticket number?
In other words is it possible (although unlikely) that OrderSend returns ZERO as a valid ticket number?

Kind regards, Tom

https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/141302

tomtester:

Thanks for your answer!
On the other hand calling OrderTicket() without calling OrderSelect() seems to return zero (independent of broker ??), which could lead to the impression that zero is not a valid ticket nr?

example script: