Terminal Globals Problem

Hey, Folks

I've got something going on that's about to cause me to say goodbye to MT programming. The problem is in trying to set terminal globals. What I'm doing is something like this:

BuyEntrySignalGiven = Symbol() + "BuyEntrySignalGiven";
GlobalVariableSet(BuyEntrySignalGiven, (double) 1.0);

The set keeps giving me a 4051 error. The first parameter is a string, the second a double as they should be. Why it keeps claiming that a parameter type is invalid is beyond me. Both parameters are of the correct type. I don't get why it's blowing a fuse when the parameters are correct. I'm a custom software developer by trade and intended to add MT apps to my offerings. If the platform is unreliable, I won't touch it. Something that's squirrely will only make me look bad and sabotage my business. If anyone has insights to offer, I'd be most appreciative.

Many thanks,

Prof

Remove the double declaration. GV is already double, so no need to declare it again.

BuyEntrySignalGiven = Symbol() + "BuyEntrySignalGiven";

That code also problematic. Someone else will point it to you, if they have the time.

ProfessorMetal:

Hey, Folks

I've got something going on that's about to cause me to say goodbye to MT programming. The problem is in trying to set terminal globals. What I'm doing is something like this:

The set keeps giving me a 4051 error. The first parameter is a string, the second a double as they should be. Why it keeps claiming that a parameter type is invalid is beyond me. Both parameters are of the correct type. I don't get why it's blowing a fuse when the parameters are correct. I'm a custom software developer by trade and intended to add MT apps to my offerings. If the platform is unreliable, I won't touch it. Something that's squirrely will only make me look bad and sabotage my business. If anyone has insights to offer, I'd be most appreciative.

Many thanks,

Prof

I don't get a problem with this code :