Trailing Bar Entry EA

Hello,

I have written an EA that trails one bar high or low and opens 2 positions. After that, it should halt and do nothing more. I have backtested and forward tested it and it seems to do the job.

This is my first coding attempt in mql4, and I'm not an experienced programmer by any means. So, I would really love it if I could get some feedback about my code before I do more coding. Attached with this post is a zip file that includes the EA and an include file.

Any helpful comments would be most appreciated

Files:
code.zip  5 kb

BenLinus:

Hello,

I have written an EA that trails one bar high or low and opens 2 positions. After that, it should halt and do nothing more. I have backtested and forward tested it and it seems to do the job.

This is my first coding attempt in mql4, and I'm not an experienced programmer by any means. So, I would really love it if I could get some feedback about my code before I do more coding. Attached with this post is a zip file that includes the EA and an include file.

Any helpful comments would be most appreciated

Your VerifyLotSize() doesn't work for all symbols . . .

Check that your OrderSelect() works before you use other functions that rely on it.

NormalizeDouble() is very rarely needed, for example it is not needed in your trailing stop functions, the values you are normalizing are already normalized prices.

In your trailing stop functions you need to take care comparing doubles or you will get error 1 issues. (see a recent thread about this)

You have many functions that do very similar tasks, place an order or close an order, these can be simply combined into a couple of functions, this reduces the testing you have to do from many functions to a few and means you can test more thoroughly in the same time.