Faulty Strategy Tester Optimization Results - Anyone else experiencing this? Is there a hidden setting I am not aware of?

I have just gone through extensive testing of 6 pairs to tune a new EA.

When I use the resultant Optimization parameters my Strategy Tester results don't come close to that of the optimization runs. In fact they seem to be opposite.

BTW I never liked that Optimization Report throws away results.... But then I found that it is a settable feature, right click settings on the Optimization Results Tab to select or deselect "Skip Useless Results"

After an hours optimization I run the best results in the tester and rather than having a profit factor of 5 I end up with a pf or .5, As a goof I try the settings for a pf of .5 and low and behold the run is profitable.

For the simulations I am doing nothing fancy, I am only varying one parameter across several runs to get the best payout over a set payout.

I have been using the ST for 4 years with out incident. These results simply Do Not Compute Will Robinson

Hm interesting. so far haven't had this problem.

forexCoder:
Hm interesting. so far haven't had this problem.

Yes Typically you can plug the results back into and run the tester and get relatively the same results usually within 5 %

I should mention that this is a 6 week H4 run on a platform that has collected raw data during that period. (Actually system has been running pretty much none stop since January collecting data on all pairs)

The most common reason is that the spread has changed. This leads to less takeprofits are hit and more stoplosses. Depending on the strategy this can be a killer. This is the main reason why a tester terminal should be kept offline.

If you start at a bad moment you could use a very high spread during the testing or optimization.

Excellent point,

I will retry test 6x2 hours, and see how that fares. I will post result of offline testing.

Side question