MQL4 - C++ - Delphi

I started using MT4 for strategy testing recently. In FT i can program in delphi or in C++. I have previous design- and programming experience in Basic and VB.

In MT4, C++ and Delphi I have zero experience. I want/need to program in FT for sure and maybe also in MT4. Since I have a blank start with the 3 languages mentioned before, I hope you can help me to make the right decision.

Questions:

1. MT4 looks quite like C++ to me (but I have looked only through a basic C++ course). Is MT4 just another name for C++ or does it really differ.? If so (in a percentage) how similar would you qualify them?

2. For forex tester the best way to go would be delphi (since FT is written in that). Can EAs in MT4 also be programmed in Delphi?

3. If FT programming is as stated the first priority, what would you advise me to do? (=start learning)

Thanks a lot for your input

Forget C++.

mql4 is just a stripped down version of C (without the ++ and without many other things and also without the speed).

The mql4 language is so simple that you can learn the syntax in half a day but you also need to read (and understand) the API documentation (the mql book and the docs) at least once (one weekend) and then you know enough to try starting some small experimentation.

Delphi (or its free counterpart Free Pascal / Lazarus which does not cost you any money) is much more recommended for learning programming in a statically typed language than the chaotic and frustrating C++ could ever be. Everything is clean and structured and straightforward, the performance and the language features are on par with (or even superior) to C++