How to make an EA not lose data after MT4 shut down?

I have an idea for coding an EA, but at very first stage I found out that it would start making losses if by any reason MT4 would be switched off and on again. I need my EA to remember a set of data (an array to be specific) no matter what. I couldn't find any solution anywhere on the internet. My best idea is to store data in/as labels on the chart. They are not deleted nor lost when MT4 is turned off. Anyways I do believe there is a better way to do that, some kind of comand or function perhaps... I'm not that experienced programmer so I turn to more skilled fellows. I will really appreciate any ideas.

Max

The terminology you are seeking for is "persistence".

We refer to "it" as the persistence protocol.

People differ in their method of implementing a persistence protocol, inasmuch as we differ in our very coding styles.

My style is to log the requisite persisting information into a csv file. This csv file is opened and its contents are read/loaded during the init(). The log file is updated in start() as needed, as well as updated in deinit().

In other industries we refer to this file as the "checkpoint" file.

i save info to file (csv,txt), read in init() and rewrite file when status has changed, both in start() and deinit()

Updating in deinit() shouldn't be necessary if done right in start(). Furthermore if must be done in start as a OS crash/power failure etc won't call deinit.

WHRoeder:
[...] as a OS crash/power failure etc won't call deinit.
Which is exactly why deinit() could be used in a persistence layer to distinguish between an unexpected failure (OS/Terminal crash) to an expected failure ('graceful' closure of Terminal by the user).

gordon:
Which is exactly why deinit() could be used in a persistence layer to distinguish between an unexpected failure (OS/Terminal crash) to an expected failure ('graceful' closure of Terminal by the user).