Stupidly Good EA - worthless and I don't know what it is doing

Hello everyone,

does this picture look to good to be true? Obviously it is. Oh, how I wish it was true! Not that I have deliberately faked anything, but even the most optimistic person would realise that this cannot represent real results in the real world.

Anyway, here is the thing. I wrote an EA (I am pretty new to this) and thought I was writing something correctly. Naturally my code was buggy, but it gave an unexpected result.

This EA takes a single indicator, runs a test on it, and then may enter a trade. It's a scalping EA, and not particularly sophisticated. It sets a Stop loss of 5 pips, and a T/P of 15. It has a set risk of about 1% of the total capital, and adjusts the lot size based on the capital.

I have tested this in the period 2005-2006. The graph goes up amazingly from 2000-2007. It goes up pretty well afterwards, but not quite as spectacularly.

The problems:

1) I have NFI what it is doing. I checked the visual chart in MT4 and it was doing nothing like I expected. Then I checked my code for the problem. The basic logic of the EA was this:- compare the current candle when it closes to the previous candle. If some tests are passed, then trade as the new candle opens. I got it wrong. When the new candle opened I ran the logical tests, and the 'position' of the indicator was 0 (for the current candle) and 1 (the previous candle). They should have been 1 and 2. Because I waited until the next candle had opened, by using "0" I was now testing the brand new candle. I have no idea what the hell data the EA is using - I would have assumed the value would have been identical to the close of the previous candle, but it is radically different.

So, does anyone know what data the EA could be using?