Arrays elude me

I don't have a programing background but I have been teaching myself MQ4 for the last 6 months. I get most of it now but arrays, I've got a mental block. I've read the documentation repeatedly but, I still haven't got to grips with them. I don't understand how you get the data into an array in the first place. By way of example...

Suppose you wanted to calculate the average number of bars that a trade stayed open for say the last 20 trades. The trade opens, I start counting bars until it closes, I now have an variable defining the length (in bars) of the last trade. When the next trade opens, the variable is subsequently overwritten, but obviously, I need the array to hold the first value and keep adding as new values are calculated. Holding these values escapes me.... I suppose (and what I understand for the documentation) I could set 20 variables (say A-T) and cascade the results down the list of variables as new data comes in (ie, A=10, next event, A=12,B=10 etc, all the way to T) and then initialise the array "int myarray[20]={A,B,C...T}". This doesn't seem very efficient though... and what if I now want the last 50? a load more coding?

Logically, it would seem better to just hold a list of all results of my bar counting (or a defined number that can be easily changed) and use the averaging period in iMAOnArray to select the 20 (or however many) results. Achieving that, escapes me though. I would really appreciate if someone could explain to me how you would get these variables into the array to enable calculations... or show me some example code. I've read the Arrays tutorial and to be honest, that has just left me confused.

Thanks for any advice
V

Hi Viffer,

arrays are just a set of values under common name. You can have:
A=10, B=5, C=8
or
A1=10, A2=5, A3=8
or
A[1]=10, A[2]=5, A[3]=8

the last one will be an array A, it will have 3 elements and its index will go from 1 to 3.

Now in MQL4 all arrays start at 0, so it actually should be: