Solution to some email related issues recently posted on the forum (SMTP account problems, removing "Expert Adviser", HTML formatted emails)

Following some recent email related posts here is a method I found that enables:

1. Sending emails without a SMTP account.
  2. Removing "Expert Adviser" from the 'From' field.
  3. Sending HTML formatted emails.

The method uses a freeware SMTP relay client I have been using for a few months: mini-Relay v0.9.77d by NetVicious.

1. Sending emails without a SMTP account :

1. Make sure 'Enable' is ticked.
  2. Under SMTP server put 127.0.0.1
  3. SMTP login/password can remain blank.
  4. Fill the 'From' and 'To' fields with emails ('From' can have whatever, 'To' is the target email).
  • Press the 'Test' button, the result can be seen in the journal.
  • Go to your email's inbox. If you did not receive the message then it's probably in the Spam folder. In Gmail u can do the following (don't know about other mail services...):
  1. Go to Spam, select the email and click 'Not spam'.
  2. Add the email u put in the 'From' field to your contacts (this will insure future MT4 emails will not go to spam).

That's it! Try using SendMail() from any of your experts and enjoy. A word of caution - try to limit the number of emails sent per day to a reasonable amount, otherwise your email provider will tag you as a spammer and decline emails from your IP! If this happens, you will be able to see this in the mini-Relay log... (make sure that 'Create log file' is ticked in mini-Relay > Configuration > General Tab).

2. Removing "Expert Adviser" from the 'From' field :

• mini-Relay > Configuration > Headers Tab. Fill in the following details:

• Notes:
  1. To remove a header only the name of the header should be added to the 'Remove header' field (without the ':').
  2. The 'From:' field can contain a name as well, such as: Gordon Shumway <example@gordon.com>