ea backtesting vs. live testing

I'm new to the MQL4 language and was writing a pretty simple EA that enters a position based on when two moving averages cross. When I use the strategy tester to backtest the program it seems to be working correctly (i.e. the results match the paper results that i have been previously tracking). However, once I attach it to a chart and go live it doesn't seem to be entering the positions when it should. Is there a simple explanation and/or fix for this problem? Thanks.

NewTrader7 wrote >>

I'm new to the MQL4 language and was writing a pretty simple EA that enters a position based on when two moving averages cross. When I use the strategy tester to backtest the program it seems to be working correctly (i.e. the results match the paper results that i have been previously tracking). However, once I attach it to a chart and go live it doesn't seem to be entering the positions when it should. Is there a simple explanation and/or fix for this problem? Thanks.

There could be a number of reasons. Could you answer the following:

• Do you use iMA with shift = 0 or any other item with shift=0 in your entry rules?
  • Are you using the open prices only model or the every tick model in the strategy tester?

It would be helpful if you post the EA code.

Paul

http://paulsfxrandomwalk.blogspot.com/

Any errors in the Journal?

Any errors in the Experts tab? Are you sending the contents of GetLastError() to the experts log after each trading attempt?

Is this a demo or live account?

Have you got a "smilie" in the top right of the chart (as opposed to a "scowlie" or an x)?

CB

Did you use the default history data which is bogus or downloaded more.

The expert is currently running (there is a smiley) on a demo account and no errors are found in the expert tab, it is only missing some entry points live (not all of them). I am using the iMa with a zero shift and using the close price.

The code controlling the moving averages is here: