How much optimization is enough

I am relatively new to FOREX and currently developing EA. I have developed one EA which I think is failry making food profit. With back testing from 01.01.2009 to 08.16.2009 it shows profit of 292K with some of the parameters optimized. With same parameter when I try to run it from 01.01.2008 till today it stop out at 09.29.2008. I want to use this EA on my real STD account. I am in two minds whether to optimize from 01.01.2008 and use those parameters in this case my profit is reduced to 140K. I am reading lot of material from this forum and code base and i find very interesting suggestions by some of experts among you in this area. If you can give me any suggestions on whether to use parameter from the optimization from immediate past although it may stop-out on the very old data OR it is wise to optimize for very old data in the past and use those parameters although the net profit may be reduced.

Please your valuable suggestions will help me make proper decision so comment on this and provide your suggestions.

A very good question.

There is no easy answer.

There are experts in the industry who maintain that optimization is worthless. There are others who maintain that optimizing will reduce the predictive quality of your tests but increase your probability of future success.

My own view:

- Shrink the optimization issue by implementing an EA/strategy that is as simple as possible - so there are few parameters to optimize

- Create an optimization methodology for each parameter - these may be very different from each other; and some parameters you may choose to optimize once, periodically or not at all

- When you do decide to optimize a parameter, do it as a forward walk, considering whether the optimal value after each test remains close to being an optimal value in the next test period etc.

CB

cloudbreaker: