Tick-level timeframe, testing

Hi,

I started learning about several different scalping systems. Some people are using M1, some M5. Why is there so little information about using intra-M1 changes on the tick level?

I started gathering each tick and saving them into CSV files. They give some useful information and may be great for ultra early buy/sell signals. I even created some simple EA that trades based on last 3-4 ticks (eg if rising - open sell). I didn't make a lot of profit of course, but this approach looks promising - if tuned to filter opening too many positions.

Anyone using this kind of method? Is that successful? The biggest challenge for me right now is testing. Will backtester be any useful with testing when data MUST be provided with tick-level granularity?

Thanks for any thoughts :)

allerune:

Hi,

I started learning about several different scalping systems. Some people are using M1, some M5. Why is there so little information about using intra-M1 changes on the tick level?

I started gathering each tick and saving them into CSV files. They give some useful information and may be great for ultra early buy/sell signals. I even created some simple EA that trades based on last 3-4 ticks (eg if rising - open sell). I didn't make a lot of profit of course, but this approach looks promising - if tuned to filter opening too many positions.

Anyone using this kind of method? Is that successful? The biggest challenge for me right now is testing. Will backtester be any useful with testing when data MUST be provided with tick-level granularity?

Thanks for any thoughts :)

It's not posible to backtest EA's that depend on tick level granularity in MT4 (imposible after ver. 208. In older vesions it was posible, trough a bit tricky). The ticks in "every tick"-mode are just a guesstimate (as you probaly know).