I need help with MT4 Account Copier

I'm trying to use an account copier EA and am getting an error message - "unknown symbol". I believe it has to do with the fact that I'm copying from a standard account to a mini - and the m after the currency pair name is messing me up. Is there a way to remove that "m" on my platform? Thanks for any help!

Sorry, nobody can help you. Change copier or broker.

Iceman0712:

I'm trying to use an account copier EA and am getting an error message - "unknown symbol". I believe it has to do with the fact that I'm copying from a standard account to a mini - and the m after the currency pair name is messing me up. Is there a way to remove that "m" on my platform? Thanks for any help!

Use the StringSubstr() function in your EA.

CB

cloudbreaker:

Use the StringSubstr() function in your EA.

CB

I'm new at this - can you elaborate?.....in simple terms?

Iceman0712:

I'm new at this - can you elaborate?.....in simple terms?

You could try looking up the function in the documentation.

However, it allows you to select substrings from within a string, based upon starting offset and number of characters from offset.

eg. on a EURUSD chart:

Symbol() = "EURUSD"

StringSubstr(Symbol(),0,3) = "EUR"

StringSubstr(Symbol(),3,3) = "USD"

CB

cloudbreaker:

You could try looking up the function in the documentation.

However, it allows you to select substrings from within a string, based upon starting offset and number of characters from offset.

eg. on a EURUSD chart:

Symbol() = "EURUSD"

StringSubstr(Symbol(),0,3) = "EUR"

StringSubstr(Symbol(),3,3) = "USD"

CB

I am so new to all of this. I've been trading equity options and forex for a few years now, but have NO experience in programming, writing EAs, etc. I have to admit, embarrassingly, that I have absolutely no idea what you're talking about. Can you help me understand?

Iceman0712: