Modified Bollinger Bands

Hello everyone,

I am new to metatrader and new to this forum as well. However I am very much looking forward to gaining new knowledge on MQL4 and MetaTrader.

I was wondering if there is an indicator on the software of a rather modified bollinger band.

We all know that the bands are calculated using the standard deviation. However, the original stddev formula uses the absolute value of the deviations. I was wondering if it would be possible to separate the positive values of deviation from the negative values of deviation.

Something like a semi standard deviation, if this term is correct. Resulting in a Gain Standard Deviation for the positive values of deviation and a Loss Standard Deviation for the negative deviations.

Once with this data, I was thinking of implementing the Gain Standard Deviation for the upper bollinger band and the Loss Standard Deviation for the lower band.

This could give us visually the volatility and some of it's direction.. if it is pulling it up or pulling it down.

Is this possible with metatrader?

I hope I made myself clear, and would be very happy if someone with more expirience helped me out here.

Thank you in advance,

Carlos

Interesting concept. I tried to implement it by modifying standard Bands indicator.

I attached the two versions of my codes Bands2 and Bands3. However I am not sure if is is working according to your concept.

I made the following changes:

• Added a new parameter MAPeriod, so you could individually set periods for calculating moving average and for calculating standard deviation.
  • In bands2 I changed method of calculating standard deviation it normalize values to moving average.
  • Separated negative and positive deviation into 2 sets and calculated standard deviation for upper and lower band. If there are no data in one of the sets deviation is set to 0.
Files:
bands3.mq4  4 kb
bands2.mq4  4 kb

Hello scalony,