Open orders question

I'm new to programming. I have a hedging EA I'm testing. I would like to know the number of open long and short positions and print this to the screen. I think I could branch out after a new position is opened or when the EA closes positions. Can I call the same sub routiene from different places in the code? Can any one help with a short subroutine?

One solution for you M.

see attached.

You can call this function from any place in your EA.

Perhaps for your purposes, you would call it at beginning of start()

Also, could call it as last statement in EA before start() exits...

imho, "as last statement" is overkill since EA called every datatick and not want to tire Client Terminal ;)

various ways to get function into your EA.

1. save the .mqh in the ...\experts\include directory and put this at start of your EA: #include <openOrdersInfo.mqh>

2. copy,paste function into your EA - outside of the start() {...} function.

3. do not forget to put a call somewhere! openOrdersInfo();

by all means - please hit <F5> to recompile

;o))

PS.

1. Buyer Beware!! tested but not rigourously tested ;)

2. usual caveats apply as Murphys law might kick in!

few test pictures...

and NO... I do not trade like above! - just kept hitting <F9> to get some varied orders going so test harnes would pick 'em up ;)

Files:

ukt:

One solution for you M.

see attached.

You can call this function from any place in your EA.

Perhaps for your purposes, you would call it at beginning of start()

Also, could call it as last statement in EA before start() exits...

imho, "as last statement" is overkill since EA called every datatick and not want to tire Client Terminal ;)

various ways to get function into your EA.

1. save the .mqh in the ...\experts\include directory and put this at start of your EA: #include <openOrdersInfo.mqh>

2. copy,paste function into your EA - outside of the start() {...} function.

3. do not forget to put a call somewhere! openOrdersInfo();