WindowFind() returns -1 if custom indicator searches itself when init() function works. ???

Hello,

I am new to MetaTrader and have been trying to write my first EA. I've done plenty of programming in the past (Java, php, etc) so I have no issues with that aspect, but I've been really stuggling with things like money management, optimising trade entry and exit.

Anyway, to cut a long story short the EA I was writing (based on the 3 ducks strategy) was going nowhere fast and I found a an EA online based on this and have been planning on working through the code to help my development. However, when I've tried to run it in strategy tester to see how it works initially I get an error

2008.02.09 19:40:43 2008.01.10 10:41 3-ducks-trading-system GBPUSD,M5: unknown subwindow number -1 for ObjectCreate function

Have traced this back in the code and it seems that the ObjectCreate function is calling WindowFind("MTA MF Viewer"). Now I have guessed that the mq4 file should also be used as an indicator and I've created an indiactor using the same code. It's made no difference.

The help file for windowfind() says that WindowFind() returns -1 if custom indicator searches itself when init() function works ... but I have no idea what this means? Is it referencing itself in some way that's causing a problem.

Can anyone help? I can upload the files if that helps?

p.s. All this is on the presumption that automated trading with MetaTrader can be profitable if you put the work in, and should be easier once you know the system/code ... if this isn't the case then soneone please tell me now !!

Many thanks,
Allan

"The help file for windowfind() says that WindowFind() returns -1 if custom indicator searches itself when init() function works ... but I have no idea what this means"

It means you can't use WindowFind() during init()...

put it inside start()

phy: